Showing posts with label Outdoor Track. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Outdoor Track. Show all posts

Sunday, May 17, 2009

Final College Track Meet

I am back from Massachusetts (got back late Friday night!) and I had a blast. It was probably the most enjoyable track meet this year because I wasn't stressed about needing to preform at my best (although I wanted to do well).

I ended up coming in 4th place in my region with 3238 points (I was originally seeded 5th). I didn't get many PRs but I had fun the whole time and took lots of pictures. Not only did I have a good meet but the rest of the team did too! The mens team ended up coming in second in the region and one guy qualified for nationals in the decathlon and another in the 400m hurdles! It is sad to think that track is over but there are so many good memories to look back on.

It surprisingly has not hit me yet that my college athletic career is over...prolly wont truly set in for another couple of months. The good news is that my 15k training can now begin. The Boilermaker 15k race is exactly 8 weeks away. The only thing I need now is an actual plan to follow! Anyone have any ideas??!!

I started moving all my stuff into my apartment. I can't believe that I have my own apartment! I feel so grown up! I also feel like I am going to go wild at Target later this week!! I also started going through a lot of my books on my bookshelf and I feel like I have some that I don't need anymore. I know there are some websites where you can sell or exchange books. Has anyone used these websites or know anything about them???

Thanks to everyone for all the nice comments! It really means a lot to me! I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Thoughts and LW

Well things have been hectic and stressful and such but my school work is pretty much all done!! I still have to pack all my track stuff and we leave at 6pm tonight!!

I woke up with a horrible headache this morning and now I sit at my computer with my water bottle on one side and a chocolate raspberry coffee (yum!) on the other.

Yesterday was my last track practice. And I am not sad about it at all. It has been a great experience and this is the best possible way for me to end my college athletic career! I am very excited for this "last" track meet!! The parents are traveling to see my compete as well which is an added boost!

Yesterday I got the keys to my new apartment. While driving there I saw that there were sidewalks on pretty much every street which will be great for running!! (I also saw a drive threw for a dunkin donuts! This will obviously feed my coffee addiction!)

Ok on to Literary Wednesday! I have a word document that has a list of all the books I have read since high school (We actually had to start this document my senior year for a portfolio project). I opened that file up and picked out a book that I really enjoyed.

One of my very good friends and also running buddy Winkly recommended this book to me a while ago. It is a young adult book but the story is really touching. I found this description online:

"It's a captivating, heartbreaking and illuminating tale of what happens after we die. Liz Hall, the narrator, is a well-spoken, emotionally intense 15-year-old. She was primed for adolescence: boyfriends, driving, her first bra. And then she was killed in an accident, after which she ends up in heaven looking down as those who loved her go on with their lives. After the accident, Liz ends up in a heaven called Elsewhere, an extraordinarily organized place where the dead go to await rebirth. In Elsewhere, the dead are not dead in the traditional sense. They have lives. They work. They eat and play and have relationships. They explore life as we do. They succeed and they stumble as we do. Most important, they age -- but backward, from the age they were at the moment of their arrival to infancy, at which time they're transported back to earth for a new life."

I definitely recommend checking this book out! It was a quick read and I really enjoyed it!

Happy Wednesday (and Thursday and Friday!) Tomorrow is Day 1 of Heptathlon and then day 2 is Friday! I am not as nervous this time, I am just hoping to beat all my previous times and distances!

Monday, May 4, 2009

Outdoor Track State Meet

I am going to make this short and sweet.

Friday morning I left with my team for the Track State meet. It was a two day meet with half the events on Friday and the other half on Saturday. Friday I had Long Jump and the 4x800m Relay and Saturday I had shot put and long jump.

Due to my cold, I ended up only competing on Friday. Long Jump was horrendous and the 4x800m relay was not much better. I ran a 2:43 split and felt like I was going to die after the first 300m. My coach said I looked like I had no leg lift and I agreed as my hip hurt for most of the race.

I think with the cold and having competed Sunday and Monday, I was just burnt out. Thank goodness I had three other great teammates on my relay team who ran great and helped us get a third place finish!

Saturday my coach pulled me from my events because I wasn't feeling good. I ended up taking pictures of all the girls running and just supporting and cheering on the team. With my rinky dink canon camera was able to capture a few good pictures but nothing compared to the ones that B-Rabbit takes with his camera!

Anyway today it is back to the grind with practice. I am just hoping to get over this silly cold as soon as possible!! Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Making Progress

First off - THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH FOR YOUR COMMENTS! Saturday was a rough night for me but I got through it. Sunday I woke up and went for an easy 3 miler and felt much better.

Yes it is sad that I was not able to run the relay but guess what? I have talent to compete in 7 events which no other girl on my team has the ability to do!

Today we have a dual meet and I am competing in hurdles, high jump and running the lead off leg of the 4x400m relay. I realize that running the relay is more of a training exercise for me so that I can run the 800m faster. Everything seems to have clicked for me that I am a multi event athlete and I have a chance of a lifetime which I NEED to take advantage of!

Yesterday I looked up the qualifying standards for the regional meet and I realized that I WAS TOTALLY off on my thinking.

Currently I have 3346 points for 7 events
To qualify for the regional meet I need 3400 points (previously I thought there was no way I could qualify because I was looking at the national standards!)

I have a new goal - I WANT to go to that regional meet!

The final countdown has begun - 4 days until I compete! I am filled with nervous excitement and hoping that I can preform to my full potential! I am thankful that this time I can compete (compared to what happened for Indoor and my hip flexor)!

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Still Bummed

I am still bummed about the relay stuff...The roster for this weekends meet came out and I am an alternate for the 4x400m relay...whatever that means!

I feel like my coach doubts my ability and thinks that I am still injured and therefore can't run. Well I have been running fine in practice and I have Heptathlon States in less than 2 weeks so obviously I am fine if I plan on doing 7 events in two days!

Yesterdays workout was a welcome relief and helped me to clear my mind. We did 5x400m repeats and for the first time doing this workout I had no hip pain. I feel stronger, faster, and better than ever!

In 10 days I will compete in heptathlon - my first, last and only chance to do something amazing! With graduation a little over a month away and track ending sooner than that I am really starting to realize that I don't have much time left. I think that is why I was getting so emotional yesterday about the relay!

Anyway, today I will be practicing high jump and hopefully no more chin to my chest while jumping!! For the relay - I just have to trust that things will work out in the best way for me. And if my coach gives me the chance to run the relay I will leave everything on the track!

Thanks for all your kind comments! Have a great Wednesday!

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Track Meet Report and Photos!

We finally were able to have a track meet this weekend...it was sunny outside but it was SOO windy! I seriously hate wind and it made me miss Indoor Track!

My first event was the Javelin Throw. This was my first time throwing it in a real meet and I tried to have a laid back attitude. I just needed a mark so that I could get points for Heptathlon and qualify for the State Meet. My first three throws were ok, nothing special and somehow I managed to get into finals. With all throwing events you have three throws, then the top 8 competitors get three more throws aka Finals to determine the winner! My second throw of finals was perfect and I ended up moving into 6th place! Woohoo!

I found shelter and was able to warm up a bit before heading back out to warm up for high jump. The officials ran the meet sooo slowly and I knew just as we started high jump that the 200m dash was going to be starting as well. Basically the official was retarded and I said that I was going to my running event and he called my name to jump! I was angry but managed to clear the first height before sprinting off to the starting line.

There were blocks in my lane (lane 3) and I quickly began to set them. I was not even ready when the official said "On your mark!" My mind was racing and I was just trying to get myself ready. I slowly got into my blocks and I was sitting back when the official said "Set!" I hadn't even placed my hands down on the TRACK!! Thank goodness the official told us all to stand up because something had gone wrong with another girl! The second time around was much better but my start was not perfect. I managed to place 15th overall with a time of 29.05 seconds.

Once finished with the 200m dash I walked back over to the high jump area and was given a few minutes to relax before being put back into the jumping lineup. I was not mentally focused on my jumping and I realized after the meet and looking at the pictures B-rabbit took that I am not arching my back as I go over the bar (See the second picture for visual) I seem to be touching my chin to my chest as I jump which leads me to stick my butt out and therefore knock over the bar! Funny thing on touching my chin to my chest - not only do I do this in high jump but also when baking a cake. I put my chin to my chest and stir the batter! I don't know what is wrong with me!

The 4x400m relay was the second to last event and I was really looking forward to running it and getting a time. Unfortunately my coach decided to pull us from the relays and we went home. The worst part was that none of the team told the women's relay teams so we started warming up and had no idea!!

In previous posts I have mentioned that I have been upset about the 4x400m relay. To be quite honest I know that I can run it and be on the relay team and help them go to the regional meet but I feel like I am not going to get that chance. Here is why I think that:

Yesterday at practice my head coach came up to me and asked me which events I wanted to do for the conference championship meet this weekend. I still need to do 100m hurdles for heptathlon and have a few options for other events. I asked my coach if he was going to put me in the 4x400m relay and he said no. He said something about there not being a lot of time between now and Heptathlon (aka multis) States and some other stuff I seem to have forgotten.

I feel like he doesn't want me to run the relay because he thinks that because I ran it in Indoor that is the reason I got hurt. I want the chance to run it and I want to go to the regional meet. Basically it is my "Senior Wish" to run and compete on the relay. So this morning I stopped by my coach's office and tried to talk to him about me being on the relay. My only two goals for track was to compete in Heptathlon on Outdoor and run the relay! I wanted those two things so badly and now I feel like I have been pushed aside. I didn't know how to accurately tell my coach how much I want to run the relay.

This weekend, another girl is running the relay with the three other original members. This girl, lets call her Beth, is a good runner and we train together regularly. I have nothing against her, she is a very nice girl but I just think that I could run it faster. We will just have to see how this weekend goes...

And now the moment I know you all have been waiting for - Pictures from the meet!!!

Running the 200m dash

High jump - Please notice the chin to the chest and the pink spikes!

Ok I am done venting and everything...its been a rough day and its only 11am!! I hope everyone else is having a better day! Thanks for reading!!

Saturday, April 11, 2009

"Bloggers Block"

I am sorry for my absence all week - I have been suffering from what Felice calls "Bloggers Block". I really haven't been inspired to write anything all week!

I am getting ready to go to my first outdoor track meet this morning.

Events:
Javelin
High Jump
200m
4x400m relay (lead off leg! aka I run first)

I am hoping for lots of sun and very little wind! Hope everyone has a great weekend and Happy Easter!

Monday, April 6, 2009

Change of Plans

We were supposed to have our first outdoor meet this past weekend but due to weather and scheduling problems it didn't happen.

Instead Saturday morning we had "practice" which really was a mini meet. The whole team was there and we ran several events for time.

I ran the 300m with Abby and Alison. Since it was raining we had to run it indoors which means that the times were slightly slower than they would have been if we ran outdoors. The last time I ran a 300m time trail was way back in November; I ran it in 50 seconds.

It is a fairly quick race but the 300m hurts! The last 100m I was trying to catch Alison because she was starting to slow down but I was slowing down too!

My time = 46.3 seconds
Alison = 45.9 seconds
(Speed demon Abby = 44.16 seconds)

We then did a 4x200m relay and it went well; my split was about 28.7 seconds.

Saturday night I watched the NCAA basketball tournament games and ended up falling asleep on the couch at 9:30pm. Obviously I am not a party animal! I had a pretty boring weekend! I looked at the weather for this coming Saturday and it looks like rain again so there possibly wont be a meet this weekend either : (

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Practice makes Perfect

In the last 24 hours I have practiced "track and field" three times and I am beat!

Tuesday afternoon
6x450m repeats with 350m jog recovery.

I ran with one of the distance girls and I didn't time the runs but it felt like we were pushing it.

Wednesday morning
Starts and resistance running

I woke up early and met the male decathlete (10 events - I am grateful I am a girl) to practice starts out of blocks and then we did resistance running which is just hard to explain.

Wednesday afternoon
High Jump Practice

It was good to high jump again. The bending and jumping made my hip tired and my form got sloppy.

First outdoor track meet is Saturday.

Events:
Long Jump
High Jump
200m
4x400m relay

I am kind of bummed - Since I am just getting back into running with the team and didn't compete in states with the relay team I am not on the 'A' relay now. These first meets are mainly to help everyone get times for events. I am hopeful that I will get my spot back but at the same time I am nervous and worry and that I wont be good enough to get my spot back.

The other interesting part of this is that I am leading off the 'B' relay which means I will be running with/against Abby! My goal is to stay with her and hopefully I can run the 400m in 61 seconds.

In other news, Chic Runner is having a pretty sweet giveaway so go over and check it out! Sorry for the long post! Thanks for reading! Keep running!

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Annoying Roommate, Running in Groups and Books

It's a Wednesday morning and I am already annoyed with my roommate. We don't technically share a room, just the bathroom, kitchen and living room but this girl is the most inconsiderate person I have ever lived with.

She has class at 10am but every morning she wakes up at about 7am and proceeds to bang around the apartment waking me up. She takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R to get ready and always leaves a mess behind. I am trying not to be passive aggressive but it is really hard. Currently if she leaves something out in a place where it doesn't belong I proceed to hide it! I can't wait for April Fools day - this is going to be good!

Now that I got my rant out of the way, on to running - Current workouts have included lots of running!

Monday -
warm up 1/2 mile
1x350m FAST (58 seconds)
2x200m FAST ( 30-32 seconds each)
cool down 1 mile

Tuesday -
warm up 1/2 mile
8x400m at 70% (about 90 seconds for each 400m with 3 minutes rest)
cool down 1/2 mile

The hip flexor was tender after yesterdays 400s, so I am going to go light today.

So I promised to talk about my running experience with a group yesterday but I got side tracked so here it is today.

Recently I have been trying to coordinate with my coach a way to train for Heptathlon. It is really difficult trying to fit in 7 different events. I was feeling discouraged as my coach told me that I would have to do the running workouts on my own. I never want to go back to doing sprint workouts with a group or partner. The decrease of intensity that results from running alone is very discouraging. (Thankfully my coach and I worked things out so I can still run with the sprinter girls).

This is why I have been contemplating joining a local running/track club after I graduate. The guy who runs the club is a neighbor of my parents and I am really looking forward to having people to run with. I even considered coming back to my college next year just to run with Abby and Jill and Alison (my track teammates). I am not sure exactly what the future holds but I cannot say enough about running with a group. Not only is there a social aspect and great friends to be made but having others to run with for track workouts helps to keep me honest and to push me to become a better runner.

I really could go on and on about this but I have to get ready for school. Happy Running!


Current Book I am reading -
For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhahn
A friend recommended this book and so far it is pretty interesting -

From amazon.com -

What’s going on in a man’s mind? From their early days, every woman has struggled to understand why males behave the way they do. Even long-married women who think they understand men have only scratched the surface. Beneath a man’s rugged exterior is an even more rugged, unmapped terrain. What bestselling author Shaunti Feldhahn’s research reveals about the inner lives of men will open women’s eyes to what the men in their life—boyfriends, brothers, husbands, and sons—are really thinking and feeling. Men want to be understood, but they’re afraid to “freak out” the women they love by confessing what is happening inside their heads. This book will guide women in how to provide the loving support that modern men want and need.

(they also have a For Men Only book too!!)

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Outdoor Track

Hello OUTDOOR TRACK!!

Yesterday was the second day I ran with my new shoes. Sunday I went to the track with B-Rabbit and we did some 400m repeats. He didn't like running that much so he decided that he was going to be my "Sprinting Coach"! He may know how to sprint in swimming but he still has a few things to learn about sprinting in running!! He made me do a bunch of drills to work on my speed though which was a really good idea!

Monday I went to practice and I must say that I looked SUPER cute in my target capri running pants and white T and dark maroon running jacket. Usually I just throw clothes on for practice but this time I just wanted to look cute. Maybe it is just a girl thing - some days we just want to look good!! It was a bit windy but the sun shone and I was just so happy to be running with my girls again!

We did a intense workout -
500m, rest 2 minutes
120m all out, rest 10 minutes
400m, rest 2 minutes
120m all out, rest 8 minutes
300m, rest 2 minutes
120m all out, rest 6 minutes
200m, rest 2 minutes
200 all out

I felt great! The hip was "uncomfortable" at times and I talked to my friend who had the same injury over Christmas and she said that it was common and lasted a few weeks but got better!

We ROCKED the intervals!
500m in 99 seconds
400m in 76 seconds (insane - didn't even feel that fast!)
300m in 53.5 seconds (2 seconds faster than I ran during an indoor workout!)
(the 120m were just run, we didn't time them)

I did not run the 2x200m sprints because I could feel my hip getting tired. I don't want to get injured again.

Ok heres the pictures of my new shoes! I have a surprise - I bought new sprinting spikes!!! I fell in love with them as soon as I saw them!


My new lovely Asics! Aren't they pretty!!

My NEW pink Sprinting Spikes! Holy Hot PINK!! They are bright!

HAPPY ST. PATRICK'S DAY!!! Today it supposed to be almost 60 degrees! How about that for Spring?

Friday, March 13, 2009

Ice vs. Heat

We have all heard that ice is good. It makes the soreness in the muscles go away BUT is it really a cure for everything??

I have found out that for me it is not. Sure I ice my hamstrings, I go in the ice bath and stuff but this past week I found out that icing a hip flexor is not the best option for me.

I have finished my 4th week here with this injury. I didn't ice at all during the third week and I felt great! I was in Florida running in the sun and warm weather.

The next week I got back to school and continued with my rehab and started back icing. Well I started to have pain in my hip again. I was depressed and upset because I felt like I was taking a step backwards for no reason at all!

Last Thursday I went back to the trainers and they told me to stop icing. By icing my hip I was causing the muscle to tighten up and then I would try to walk it would be painful because the muscle was stretching. So I am off ice now and I just use heat for prewarm - up stuff. I am hoping next week I will be back in action!

Interesting how things work!!

In other exciting news I got new shoes! Ill post pictures tomorrow! Today marks the first day of OUTDOOR track practices!! We will probably be outside as it is supposed to be very nice out!!

Happy Monday!